Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

NTC Faculty Committees

Newcomb-Tulane College faculty committees address issues that impact all full-time undergraduate students, including curricular matters, major advising, and study abroad.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee shall be composed of seven faculty members, the secretary of the faculty (ex officio), and the dean of the Newcomb-Tulane College as chair. The committee shall meet on call of the dean, and a meeting must be called when requested by three or more of its members.

Executive Committee duties include:

To serve as an advisory committee to the dean on any matter of administration
To receive and act on routine reports of ordinary standing and special committees
To act for the faculty at the direction of the faculty
In addition to its annual report, the committee shall issue special reports when appropriate

Additional duties are described in the Newcomb-Tulane College Faculty Constitution

The Curriculum Committee

The Curriculum Committee deals with all matters relating to the undergraduate core curriculum.

Chair: TBD
Members: TBD

The Committee on Academic Requirements

This committee maintains academic standards as established by the faculty and considers student petitions for waivers of academic policies and requirements.

The Committee on Honors

The Committee on Honors makes recommendations regarding standards and policies with respect to honors curricula, degrees with honors, honors theses, and awards.

The Committee on Major Advising

The Committee on Major Advising maintains standards for advising in undergraduate students’ major departments or programs.

Chair: TBD
Members: TBD

The Study Abroad Committee

This committee establishes academic policies and procedures relating to study abroad.

Chair: Susann Lusnia, School of Liberal Arts

Faculty members: 
Lorelei Cropley, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
Kyriakos Papadopoulos, School of Science & Engineering
Jeff Tasker, School of Science & Engineering
Martin Dimitrov, School of Liberal Arts
Michael Syrimis, School of Liberal Arts

Staff members:
Pete Alongia, Office of Study Abroad
Annie Gibson, Office of Study Abroad
Mariette Thomas, A.B. Freeman School of Business
Emily Parsons, School of Architecture
Dolores Hemphill, Academic Advising Center
Valerie McGinley, Stone Center for Latin American Studies
Ryan Judd, Language Learning Center