Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

John J. Witmeyer III Dean’s Colloquium 2011

Doug Hurley

Thursday, October 20, 2011
12:00 p.m.
Dixon Hall
Free and open to the public, with a reception to follow.

Doug HurleyThe John J. Witmeyer III ’68 Dean’s Colloquia invite distinguished alumni back to campus to meet with students, visit classes and give a public lecture. This year’s speaker is Doug Hurley '88, the NASA astronaut and Tulane School of Engineering alumnus who piloted the final U.S. space shuttle mission this past July.

Hurley received his commission as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps from the Naval Reserve Officer Training Corps at Tulane in 1988.

Selectedas a pilot by NASA in July 2000, and following the completion of 2 years oftraining and evaluation, he was assigned technical duties in the Astronaut Office, which have included Kennedy Operations Support as a “Cape Crusader,” where he was the lead ASP (Astronaut Support Personnel) for shuttle missions STS-107 and STS-121. He worked Shuttle Landing and Rollout, served on the Columbia Reconstruction Team at Kennedy Space Center and in the Exploration Branch in support of the selection of the Orion Crew Exploration Vehicle (CEV).

In July 2009, Colonel Hurley completed his first space flight as pilot on STS-127, ISS Assembly Mission 2J/A, and has logged more than 376 hours in space.

From July 8 to July 21, 2011, Hurley piloted STS-135, the 33rd flight of Atlantis, the 37th shuttle mission to the space station, and the 135th and final mission of NASA’s Space Shuttle Program.  The mission, which included one spacewalk by Expedition 28’s Mike Fossum and Ron Garan, was accomplished in 200 orbits of the Earth, traveling 5,284,862 miles in 12 days, 18 hours, 27 minutes and 56 seconds.

This event is sponsored by the Newcomb-Tulane College Office of Cocurricular Programs. For more information, contact 865-5728 or

Previous Dean’s Colloquia
2016-17 Dean's Colloquium: Roger Ervin
2015-16 Dean’s Colloquium: Steven Paul
2014-15 Dean’s Colloquium: Meria Carstarphen
2013-14 Dean's Colloquium: Alex McMurray
2012-13 Dean's Colloquium: Attorney Ira Sorkin
2010-11 Dean's Colloquium: Actor Bryan Batt
2009-10 Dean's Colloquium: EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson
2008-09 Dean's Colloquium: NPR Correspondent Gwen Thompkins
2007-08 Dean’s Colloquium: Appraiser and “History Detectives” star Elyse Luray